The Way I See Things

By JDO

Knaresborough

We said goodbye to the Greystead Institute with heavy hearts this morning. I'm old enough to remember when holiday cottages were mainly pretty basic affairs, but this has been a real home from home (I was about to insert a joke here about it being far cleaner than home, but you already know that I'm a slattern, so I won't labour the point), and we're going to miss it. I have a feeling that we'll be back - if not to this property, than certainly to Northumberland, because we've barely begun to experience the charms of this beautiful county.

We stopped off in Knaresborough for lunch and a walk, to break our journey back to the Shire. We were last here in January of last year; in my blip then I said I thought that on a sunny day this would be a wonderful view, and I'm happy to say that I was right - I have other photos from today, but thought it would be nice to post what is essentially the same view, to show the comparison. On the minus side, a sunny September Saturday had brought a lot of people to the town, but it didn't feel packed - the worst inconvenience we faced was that we weren't able to get a table to have our coffee in one of the riverside cafés.

And so to home, a mountain of washing, nine days-worth of backblips, and a strong desire to book our next holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.