Tom Zimmerman

By Zimmt54

Cooper's Hawk

These Hawks nest in deciduous and evergreen forests, as well as in suburban and urban environments like our neighborhood in LA.
Coopers build stick nests that are placed in a main crook of the tree or on a large, horizontal branch against the trunk,  in a well-concealed location in the upper part of a tree. Raccoons and Great Horned Owls are the most common predators of eggs and nestlings.
The species usually lays three to five eggs. After the eggs hatch, the female broods the nestlings continually for the first 14 days. While the female remains at the nest, the male provides food for her and their young. The female feeds the nestlings and the male usually delivers prey to her. If the female is away from the nest when the male returns, he will drop off food at the nest but will not feed the young.
If I have my Nikon & 300mm they are no where to be found.  I have my iphone, they are in my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.