Spetisbury

My paternal grandfather's family came from Dorset .  My 3 x great grandparents got married in Spetisbury church and lived in the Castle Inn. I persuaded Mr P that we should include Spetisbury on our route home and left him lurking in a lane while I went into the church to imagine my ancestors walking up the aisle and find the font where they baptised their 6 children.
The Castle Inn no longer exists as a pub but I chatted to the locals having a coffee morning in the church and explained my mission to find the church and the former Castle Inn. Guess who was in the kitchen doing the drinks -  yes the  lady who lives in the house that used to be the Inn. You can imagine my excitement. I have promised to go back on a future occasion when I have more time and she will show me round her house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.