wrperry

By wrperry

A Boy on a Beach

Today we decided to go to our favorite beach on the Atlantic Ocean, Nauset Beach.  We sat in sweatshirts with towels wrapped around our legs for warmth, but the sun was bright and the tide was high.  This little boy strolled by with his mother and grandma.  I'll have to get one of those hats for my little grandson.

I have also included a photo that has a lot of meaning for me.  I've been coming to this beach since I was a small child and this scene used to be much different.  The sand was not as high, and there was a snack bar with picnic tables and umbrellas on the left.  Now there is a man-made berm, a newly installed walkway, and a flag of a shark.  This is troubling.  A large nor'easter last year washed out a large protective dune, and demolished the snack bar.  Sadly, the popular snack bar had to be removed and has not been replaced.  Now, in its place is a flag which is raised when sharks are sighted, warning beachgoers to get out of the water.  The seal population has increased, and the animals are now found in the waters close to shore.  This attracts sharks that hunt the seals and creates a danger for swimmers.  I have to wonder what changes my grandchildren will see here when they bring their families.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.