Sebulon

By sebrose

Iris

In almost no time, it’s dawn. I stare blearily up through the hole in the top of the yurt. Squinting, it could be a giant, gaping iris. Beyond it, the black fades as the sky passes through various shades of grey, heading for bright blue.

Keith takes me down to Joyeuse. We’re both feeling a little rough, so we sit in the shade as the heat builds, sipping a coffee, waiting for the bus.

The 74 winds through Ardèche, dropping me two hours later at Montelimar station. I sit in the park for an hour before catching the train to Lyon.

It’s lunchtime. I eat a salad and buy some gifts from Biocoop - wine, mustard, olives. Then a TGV to Lille, followed by Eurostar to London, and finally underground to Great Portland Street. It’s not raining. It’s not even cold. Yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.