YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Visit To Dundee

It's the first time I have ever been there. Firstly we visited Discovery Point that houses the exhibition about the ship The Discovery and then we visited the ship itself. Captain Scott and his crew sailed The Discovery to Antarctica in 1901 where they stayed for a couple of years doing research, exploration etc. It was touch and go as to whether they could get the ship off the ice but luckily they did. While there they had to eat penguins which apparently taste like rotten fish. Such an interesting place to visit.

We then went to V&A Dundee which hasn't been open long. The building is very modern and iconic and I liked it very much. To be honest I wasn't expecting much from the exhibits but I loved the Scottish Design Gallery which had some wonderful examples of Scottish craftsmanship.

Next year the Mary Quant exhibition that is currently at the V&A in London is coming to Dundee so I may be back to see it.

We never even got to see the centre of Dundee so I will have to return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.