Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

21.5 miles...

...each way!  Today I rode 43 miles with 2000 feet of elevation gain.  This used to be one of my regular rides back in the day -  when I was younger and about 50 pounds lighter.  I haven't done it in about 15 years.  I wasn't planning on doing it today, at least consciously, but I was riding by the mouth of the canyon and decided to go up a little ways.  After a few pedal assisted miles, I realized I could could make it all the way to Jamestown.  I LOVE my new bike!!  I have named her Trixie which means "bringer of joy". :-))

First and foremost, I am grateful that Trixie and I didn't crash when I looked up at a hawk flying over.  Really dumb!  I won't do that again!  I am also grateful for muscle memory.  Even though I haven't been riding much in the last few years my body remembers how to do it.  Otherwise I wouldn't be able to do these long rides, even with pedal assist!  

I just backblipped for yesterday if you want to take a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.