A day of contrasts

I was on two walks from the Autumn Festival today; both starting at Saumarez Park but how different can walks be?
In the morning a very gentle stroll around the park finishing in the Victorian Walled Garden (my first ever visit) where another guide took over. I slipped away so that I could get home and grab something to eat before the afternoon walk.
That afternoon walk was my mate Andy with a 4 mile ramble. The walks are graded and ramble is the most energetic, possibly longer and possibly with hills steps etc. Much as I always picture the Ramblers of Great Britain. But people never read how the description of the grades and many seem to read “ramble” as “amble” a sort of gentle meander around. Even one of our own guides turned up on Andy’s Sunday walk and simply couldn't keep up.
We are hoping they may change next year and describe the current “ramble” as “demanding” which Andy’s certainly are!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.