The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Wootton Bassett (Wednesday 18th September 2019)

It won't surprise anyone to learn that my experiments with bus travel have not met with huge success. I tried to get to Templars Firs by bus, not realising that the bus came into Wootton Bassett via a route that didn't go anywhere within a mile or two of where I wanted to get off.I had a wander round the town instead, and then managed to miss a couple of buses between stops when it was time to return, preferring to walk than stand still and misjudging the large distances between stops. I came across this derelict building just south of the newly-electrified railway lines, that I thought would do for Derelict Sunday, with thanks to Marlieske. I've driven past it often but never visited it up close. As a result of my impatience I also didn't have time to break my return journey at the Tesco superstore as planned.
Roadworks had brought traffic to a standstill on the outskirts of Calne, where I chose to leave the bus and walk, and got home before the bus went by, even though I'd stopped in town to have Sam Widges make me up a fresh baguette.
Conclusion: Public transport involves a lot of walking.
When I got back there was a message from the garage to say Archie's steering column turned out to be unrepairable. A new one will cost well into four figures, and involve further delays.
Refna joined me for a fun Gardening Wednesday afternoon, making up for my morning, potting winter pansies and planting crocus bulbs, while I complained about life, the universe and everything.
We discovered that some rodent had gnawed through the base of the door of my new shed to raid the peanuts securely stored there. I've had to make a sign saying 'For Birds Only'. That'll do it.

L.
19.9.2019 (1647 hr)

Blip #3041 (#2791 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #010
Blips/Extras In 2019 #218/265 + #086/100 Extras
Day #3463 (771 gaps from 26.3.2010)

Wootton Bassett series

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Jimi Hendrix Experience - Hey Joe (recorded 23 October 1966, De Lane Lea Studios, Kingsway, Holborn)
Jimi Hendrix Experience: Jimi Hendrix (vcl, gtr), Noel Redding (bass), Mitch Mitchell (dr, perc) and the Breakaways (vcl)
Johnny Allen Hendrix (b. 27 November 1942, Seattle WA; d. 18 September 1970, Kensington, London)
Hendrix died on this day in 1970, aged 27. Although this is the 20th Hendrix track to feature in LOTD, oddly I have never picked his debut single, Hey Joe, before, although hearing it for the first time was a life-changing moment. This traditional tune was registered in this incarnation to Billy Roberts. The band was formed by Chas Chandler specifically to record this tune. He brought Hendrix to London and auditioned for the other two players. Their arrangement was based on Tim Rose's version of the song that had also been adapted by London band The Creation. In Los Angeles there had been versions around for a year or two by the Leaves, the Byrds, Love and others. The studio where this single was created was underground, in a disused tube line.
"Lots of people have done different arrangements and Timmy Rose was the first to do it slowly. I like it played slowly. There are probably 1,000 versions of it fast by the Byrds, Standells, Love and others. We put our own arrangement on it, which is R&B, but that's just the way we happened to feel it" - Jimi Hendrix

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.