Merv

Lots of the tiny things of life pottered along today, but late afternoon I got some news that sat me down in shock.
My friend Merv, gone at the age of 72.

There was à time I would have thought that a fair age, but Merv was, and will always remain, inspirational, age just wasn't a factor. Just a few months ago he walked the West Highland Way, bivi—ing up on the fells each night. He was still leading long distance cycle tours and scouting out new climbs. Merv lived life with such a joy it could only ever be infectious. Time spent with Merv wasn't just well spent, it was invested.

Merv was an International Mountain Leader, a former Team Leader of Ambleside Mountain Rescue, and just a good good man. He was one of the reasons I'm the current Chair of the British Association of International Mountain Leaders, always supportive, there with wise counsel and ready to tell me when we got it wrong.
As we get older differences in age seem to matter less and less, but I never ever thought of Merv as any older, he was simply one of the most capable people I've ever met.

Gone, one of the best of us.

Merv C. 1947-2019

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.