Ferinus vis quod ignarus

By leecarson

New beginnings?

I was asked by a guy at the gym yesterday what my plans were for the year - he was excited about emigrating to New Zealand. I was stumped! Plans? I didn't have any, it would just be, you know, another year.

Then, of course, I had a wee think and that's not true at all. I did make a resolution for the year and will reveal it at the end if anyone remembers to ask. I'll be in a play, Noises Off, this May at the Barony. I've signed up for 3 races so far (a 5K, 13.1K and half marathon) and am really looking forward to my annual Budapest trip in February. October sees my 40th birthday and Lorna and I are planning a New York trip to celebrate / commiserate. Once the play is done I plan to do some writing, too...nothing too traditional or complicated, but rather something musical and performable...

So, there are plans, plenty so far considering it's only the first week of the year. Everyone knows the Death card in the tarot deck symbolises a new beginning, and these two from the museum's Day of the Dead display look like they can take anything in their stride. No deep meaningfuls there, by the way :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.