Glowing colours

A bright and sparkly day in Central London.

The natural world is beautiful, but I also rather liked the vividness of the refurbished area around Tottenham Court Road Station.

The latest version of the ROH “Don Giovanni” is the best ever. Even if you’ve seen it several times (as I have) it’s worth a return visit.

This morning was the full dress rehearsal for Handel’s “Agrippina”.

I know virtually nothing about early opera. This was a revelation. There was so much to watch, swirling patterns in the stage set, gestures and movement between the characters, subtitles to read, but, for me, I couldn’t take my eyes of the young Russian conductor.

He looks SO young (at school his nickname was Mozart). He’s more energetic and expressive than our own Birmingham director Mirga - and all of this was while playing the harpsichord and turning over his music !!!

Look out for him. Maxim Emelyanychev.

Have a brilliant weekend. I’ve just come home for a rest......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.