Lala's Journal

By Lala

Getting old!

The collage shows the view from my window for tonight, at three different times, and in three slightly different directions. It is the launch of the Girl Guide Badge event tomorrow, and due to late finish this evening as they set up, I am staying in one of the B&Bs.

The day started however with a visit to a physiotherapist. Did I write about the trip to the nurse when I couldn’t get a doctors appointment a few weeks ago? I can’t remember, but anyway, she diagnosed tendinitis and gave me a referral to a physio. Today was the appointment date. The problem it appears is what is commonly known as frozen shoulder. He showed and explained several pictures, the result of which is something has trapped a tendon, is now pinching it and also aggravating and inflaming a the rotator cuff. Or something like that! I have had this problem for three months now, and the worst thing about it is the lack of sleep. As soon as I move, it shoots a pain and I’m awake! He has given me stretches to do for a week, with the dire news that this will take 1.5 - 2 years to clear, and that is only if I do the exercises! If I don’t, the pain will eventually go, but I will have limited movement! This is indeed dire news for me, because I am useless at remembering to do exercises! He also mentioned acupuncture as often helping this problem, so may pluck up the courage to enquire further about that next time. Anything to speed up this recovery process.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.