Just Me

By clive1079

Headstone

A very emotional day for me and a very personal journal entry.

I cannot remember my father as he died when I was two and my mother died when I was 18. I can remember one of my aunties saying to me after she had passed away that she was always upset that she had never been able to afford a headstone for my fathers grave. When I was young I would stand over the patch of earth where he was buried and made a silent promise to them that one day i would get that headstone.
My mum was cremated and she has no memorial to her so this is for her as much as it is for my dad.

A silly thing to many no doubt but a very emotional day for me and when I saw it I cried.

I will buy some turf this coming week and make it look nice.

Just for today I have turned comments off as I don't want people going all sentimental on me. 

I turned comments back on the following day, my apologies for everyone who wanted to comment when I posted it but I just wanted a day of reflection. Thank you so much for the overwhelming response to this post. You really are all the most amazing caring people.

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend.
Clive

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.