flavia13

By flavia13

A FLOCK OF JOKES

I decided to take G to Sedbergh today to visit Westwood Books.  We both love a good second-hand bookshop and I thought Sleepy Sedbergh, not going to be too busy!!!!!

I couldn't believe it when we arrived, it was heaving, nevertheless I drove, vary slowly and carefully  down the main street past all these stalls and went into the car park, which was full - however we were unusually very lucky and just got the last parking space there - yippee.

Decided to go and have a look at the stalls.  Then we saw three enclosed spaces with sheep in them - a left over from The Westmoreland Show I thought.  Looked at some miniature sheep, a mini ram headbutting some ewes because they were in "his space".  There were some "blue-faced Leicesters".  I'd never "herd" of them before.

On going to the first stall I discovered that Sedbergh was in the middle of SheepFest!!!!  I'd never heard of it before - it's kind of like the Scarecrow fest (the best in my view is held at Wray in Lancashire) but with sheep instead.

So we enjoyed ourselves browsing the stalls, calling into The Three Hares for coffee, then continued browsing the stalls, looking at all the amazing sheep themes.  We called into the Church where a band was playing, they were really good too.  The church grounds were strewn with sheep "scarecrows".  I saw the two ladies sat on a bench with the two sheep and a theme from my "Let'sDo52" site this week is "unity" - so of course I just couldn't resist calling this one "Ewe-nity" and entering it.

We then went into the church and saw Reverend Douglas Baahder (their joke).  I've made a collage of my favourites - "Rampole of the Bailey" was also their title.

It was excellent and great day out.  We ended up at Westwood Books and spent a while in there.  Luckily there were plenty of places to sit for G and in the Westwood Books shop there are very comfy sofas.

We called into The Villa for lunch on the way home.

All in all a terrific unexpected day out.

Sedbergh
SheepFest 2019
Westwood Books
The Villa Levens

Thank you for dropping by, hope you like the silly collage, my entry for Silly Saturday.  Take care, I must dash now as Strictly has just started, a must for me - whilst Anton is still there at least.

Take care see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.