earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Spectrecular

After Thursday's magical start, yesterday dawned with barely a wisp of mist about. Today it was back again. I awoke to fog outside the window. As I climbed up to the quarry it was soon obvious that this was an unusual kind of inversion. When the wind is light, the mist settles, with a well-defined surface that can be almost perfectly flat, joining one side of the valley to the other. There was quite a fresh breeze today and it had stirred everything up, like waves being whipped up on the sea. Just when I'd given up on the chance of seeing anything spectacular, there was a sudden clearance and I found myself looking at my spectre in a frothy cauldron. No more than five minutes later and the fog had entirely dispersed, giving way to another beautiful September day. I listened to my body and decided not to venture too far. It might be the last chance of the year to sit and read in warm sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.