The Shed

A.K.A the black hole.  When we first took over at OGH, this shed was crammed so full of stuff you could hardly get in the door.  Red rag to a bull really, and we got stuck into the mess.  Much to our dismay, rats had moved in and done untold damage - some very old and valuable pieces simply had to be destroyed.

The reason was pretty clear, the room next door to ours is used as the lunch room for the works crew, and when it was installed it was given air-conditioning and a ceiling.  Our part didn't get the ceiling, and there are holes everywhere in the walls.  Hence the rats got in and made a hell of a mess.

It's taken a couple of years, but we have finally convinced the powers that be that they MUST install a ceiling.  So we have moved a lot of the items under this platform, and last week a gang of chaps came in and took down all the heavy gear that was stored on the platform.  There's a couple of treadle sewing machines, a washing machine dating from the 20's, and a pianola, amongst others.

Fun and games.  And boy did it stink.  Eau de rat is not a perfume I'd recommend.

So, me being me, I decided to clean it all out; which I did.  Gave myself a headache - but, my dear Rower, yes I did wear a face mask, and heavy duty gloves, and left every 10 minutes to get a breath of fresh air.

Now it's all tidy, and I've informed our liaison ranger that they can go ahead and install the ceiling, and sooner rather than later would be nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.