rower2012

By rower2012

Hot Paper Wasp

It was a very hot day again today so I went for an insect with a pretty hot sting in the tail. The good old paper wasp. Seen ever nastier in LARGE! He is also my first paper wasp to be blipped.

We have several wasp nests around the house and whenever we remove a nest, it seems to come right back again. They just love this address!

Being 41C today I knew that the insects and birds would be down for a drink at the bird bath in the middle of our front lawn. Sure enough I caught this wasp, having a sip in the very shallow water at the edge of the bird bath.

I could not get too close, or make that .... I did not dare get any closer as they can be very aggressive if upset, or they feel threatened. There was a continuous procession of insects down to the bird bath all afternoon, but no birds would come close with me lurking in the vicinity. So there it is, a hot insect for a hot day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.