The Heights

Something a bit different today.

I hiked up Mt Aragats to the summit of its southern peak, which is at 3,879m/12,726 ft. I was not alone. All credit to my guide Artsrun, without which none of this would have been possible. 

Remember (you knew - didn’t you) that Yerevan is quite high up - 1,390 m (4,560 ft) in the part I am staying in. Nor is the car park at the bottom of the mountain. 

On the other hand, oxygen is starting to get scarce at those heights. 

It was a beautiful day for it, and much cooler at 20⁰c. In fact Artsrun reckons we had the best conditions he has ever seen.   

The mountain is an extinct volcano, and has four main peaks. The others are not for the likes of me - mountaineering stuff. 

Blipping is a problem. The best shots are the ones Artsrun took of me with my camera.  

So… compromise…

The Blip is one I took of Artsrun on the summit. An Extra is me on the summit, with Mt Ararat (in Turkey) behind me. The other Extra is the north peak. 

Artsrun reckons I should do it again in the spring to see it all with snow around.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.