Small Places

By PicLocata

Scary shadow

On a delightfully sunny day, an (ivy?) bush beside my drive was being visited by dozens of insects. At first I thought they were small bees, but looking closer they were mostly hoverflies (see extra). I'm more familiar with the ones that look like wasps, not bees.

This is my favourite, of a real wasp, because I like the shadow!

I spent a long time, trying the ProCapture feature of my camera. It buffers a number of images from the moments before the shutter is pressed. Even so, I found that a fly could be on the flower in one frame and out of shot 1/60s later. Depth of field was a challenge too - if the insect flew a little towards or away from the camera it was instantly out of focus. Even so, I'm impressed with a capability that I couldn't have imagined a few years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.