Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Holme and Away

Woke up this morning to a backdrop of torrential rain and a Met Office Yellow Alert for heavy rain for most of the day.

So it was in a bit of a downpour that I drove the few miles from Grange-over-Sands, where I had spent the night, over to Allithwaite, where I was attending the baptisms of my cousin's grandchildren Penny and Florence Findlay. After the church service, we walked over to the village hall for lunch and refreshments (the rain had eased off a bit by then) and a catch-up with various family members who had gathered for the occasion.

Back to Grange in the mid-afternoon and a change of clothes, followed by a walk along the Promenade and some much-needed exercise (having spent much of the past two days sitting down). Unfortunately at this point the torrential rain recommenced but, undaunted, I carried on, with a rain jacket and umbrella providing some degree of protection. Today's Blip was taken on that walk. It shows Holme Island, near Grange, jutting out into Morecambe Bay.

Afterwards a wee run back over to Allithwaite for a cup of tea and a blether with various cousins was a good relaxing way to end the day. Hoping for drier weather tomorrow as I make my way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.