Mating Dragons

Not wanting to waste what may be the last fine day for a while, I searched around and found Dinton Pastures Country Park.  It'sonly around 20 mile away, but this was my first visit.

The visitor's centre and adventure playground was busy with families, typical for this type of location, but a gentle 1 mile stroll along one of the lakes quickly left the crowds behind, and ended with a choice of three bird hides overlooking smaller and quieter lakes with a good population of water fowl. I saw cormorants, lapwing (extra), egret and as well as he more common birds found around UK ponds and lakes.

I was surprise to see numerous Dragonflies on the wing, and actually managed to catch one Hawker in flight (extra), but my main shot is of this pair of Hawkers - surely far too late in the season for this type of activity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.