First Birthday Party

Ellie was invited to a birthday party today; Mia was 7 years old today and she REALLY wanted Ellie to attend her Family Birthday Party. Mia is actually not related but Mia considers me as "another grandma" so we are like family. It was fun watching Mia holding Ellie's hand and leading her around the house. I was surprised by Mia's attitude as she opened presents; she tore everything open and was totally uninterested in reading any of the cards. She didn't say "thank you" to any one and acted as if she didn't like any of her presents....she didn't even look to see what each thing was....she opened it and set it aside. She went outside to to play, never to return to look at her presents again. She got some really cool stuff that most kids would love.....I didn't get it. No adult sat with her as she opened her presents.....I suppose we all stayed quiet because we felt the parents should be giving her guidance in gratitude and respect. Am I being too judgmental? My expectations too high? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.