MonoMonday:Pastime.Memories

MonoMonday theme is Pastime. My Pastime overtook my life, where I dedicated my life to the Service of Others. I spent 20 years as an Outdoor First Aid Instructor with the NZ Mountain Safety Council, toward the end of my time which only happened when Marie and I moved to Timaru in 2003. The Award is the Highest honour the Organisation can give and is the Equivalent of an OBE ( Order of British Empire) in some books. St John Ambulance, I served as a Divisional and Assistant Divisional Manager for The Rescue Unit, Events Unit and Paid Casual Ambulance Officer for 10 years, the Shield was presented to me the day I left to move to Timaru from my Division in Invercargill and of course there is my Running pastime. The Finishers Certificate is from The Christchurch Marathon Events, This one is the day I ran my Personal Best Time 1:20.20 at the New Zealand 1/2 Marathon Champs placing 2nd in my age group;  Master Men 40-45 I was 44. Following on from this I took up Coaching  which has given lots of Satisfaction and many emotional moments in private. This past weekend we had 3 teams of 8 runners in each, who competed in the Takahe to Akaroa Road Relay in different Grades. Our B Grade Team Placed 2nd and of all the Runners many placed in the legs they ran,of these most are in my training Squad. My biggest Highlight was being part of the New Zealand St John Ambulance Contingent to the Sydney Olympic Games in 2000. But at some stage there must come a very sad and difficult time when you have to say No or enough is enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.