Birkett Fell

Pouring with rain when we left home.  We were helping at the orienteering club's event on Birkett Fell near Kirkby Stephen. It rained most of the morning, on and off while I was snug inside the tent here registering the hardy folks who came for a run round the exposed fell up here.  Jobs over, by the time I got to the start, the rain had stopped, I had to take off my waterproof jacket because I was too hot and the sun tried to come out. I was out for absolutely ages doing a technical course for the first time since the new hip. Its amazing how much you forget when out of practice. Never mind, I was not last, I found all the checkpoints , came back with a great sense of satisfaction that I am really on the mend and totally exhausted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.