Seven Sisters

This beautiful painting of the Seven Sisters in Sussex was on exhibit in the gallery of The Capitol Theatre where mum and I went to see the Downton Abbey film today.

No spoilers on the storyline I promise as my cousins in the US and Canada are yet to see the film. I noticed the marked increase in budget from the cinematography particularly the dramatic drone shot in the opening scene.

The locations were stunning too with Harewood House, Yorkshire featured. It’s one of the Treasure Houses of England which I visited with Leeds Castle colleagues in 2014.

The costumes as always were wonderful and I enjoyed the daring move to show Lady Edith in her 1920s silk lingerie. I may have to go shopping.

I enjoyed the horses and carriages and vintage automobiles. I’ve worked with the horse and vehicle suppliers on other productions this year and know the logistical efforts required to get them on set.

In fact I worked with the same production company on another project in April. I asked the art director about working on Downton and all he would say is “There are slightly less tea parties than the tv series” and “Maggie Smith is brilliant.”

Julian Fellowes script was witty, fast paced and Maggie Smith has some great one liners. I even shed some tears. Highly recommend seeing the film to Downton fans.

Today would have been my late Nan’s 93rd birthday. For some reason Maggie Smith in character as the Dowager Countess reminds me of Nan with her witty repartee. A spirited woman whose character lives on in the family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.