I spy . . .

By Kitkat

Transferable Skills

This is my amazing cousin who was given a set of bagpipes as a gift.   He has taught himself to play and in doing so has learnt how the pipes work and how he felt he could improve them.   As a welder by trade and using a lath has fashioned himself some beautiful steel pipes - they are stunning to look at and sound superb. 

So this got me thinking about my current job hunting situation.  How do I after 17 years in one industry move seamlessly into another?   What skills do I have that other people would appreciate? 

I have a established trade that is proving difficult to fit into another company, so far my experience has been I'm either over qualified or under. 

So do I stick to what I know like a familiar pair of bagpipes or do I fashion something new, different and take that leap of faith that it will work? 

I have lots to work on and think about!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.