Mono Monday : : Pastime

I think my Monday Pilates class is on the verge of being cancelled or having a change of teacher. For the second time there was a substitute and for the second time Larry and I were the only two people to turn up. Strangely, Sherisse, the regular teacher was there this morning, but she was teaching a private class in another room. 

OilMan met me for coffee afterward, still wearing his back brace but feeling much better.

I've been sitting at my desk most of the day trying to get simple answers to two seemingly simple questions. 

1) Can I get a new prescription to treat a recurring condition that hasn't occurred for three years? It took five months to diagnose this condition the first time, and about two weeks for me to get a new prescription three years ago. This is not looking promising, since I think on some levels I am probably what would be called a 'non-compliant' patient

2) Are we on the list of locations whose power will be cut tomorrow?
It would be hard to imagine how I could have gotten less information for more effort if they tried. I could list the number of recorded messages I left, the number of people who called me back and then transferred my call to yet another person who didn't answer the phone, but I imagine everyone has been through similar experiences, so I won't bother. 

As a result of all this, I am frustrated, irritated, an just a little grumpy. Once again the weather has heated up, and it's too hot to work outside in the garden, which is certainly a pastime, but there are plenty of indoor pastimes. As I cast about for an image, my eye fell on the shelves right above the computer. The shelves I posted here are but a small segment of the whole bookcase, but they do, by virtue of being the place where I tend to dump things, represent several pastimes, not the least of which is reading. These are some of my 'read for information' books rather than my 'read for pleasure' books. Peter May really belongs in the library, but he fetched up here and has never been moved....

So the recurring theme of the day seems to be spending a lot of time doing things with little to nothing accomplished. Ah well, some days are like that. I AM glad that OilMan's back is better and that Jorge came today and cut and trimmed the agaves. So all was not lost in the grand scheme of things. Dana and Jim, who came by yesterday to pick up Blake and his bed after he had an overnight with us, must have felt really sorry for us because they are bringing dinner over tonight.

THAT is lovely...Meals on Wheels family style.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.