Life through the lens...

By ValC

Postcard from Trebah

Glorious sunny morning for our visit to Trebah.
We haven't been at this time of year, and we were looking forward to seeing the valley full of hydrangeas. We weren't disappointed.
Walked down to the beach where we sat in the sun and enjoyed an ice cream. ( see extra)
So beautiful and  peaceful today.
However I can't help but think of a day not that long ago.
1st June 1944, when 7500 American Troops of the 29th US Infantry Division embarked for Operation Overlord .
These events left Polgwidden Cove with the local nickname 
" Yankee Beach".
Back in the garden there was a small cross with a photo attached. 
The words;
" In Loving Memory of Private Harold Pursey 
1922 - 1944
Who embarked from Trebah Gardens  and died on 18th June 1944 on Hill 108, Normandy. "
( see extra)

After lunch in the cafe,  sat outside on the terrace, we decided to visit Glendurgan  Garden, which is almost next door.
This is a National Trust property, and so as members it was free.
I'm afraid that although this is very similar, with the steep valley going down to the river, it isn't a patch on Trebah.
I don't think we will visit again.
We were very lucky with the weather, as just as we were almost back to the car the heavens opened and there was a torrential down pour.
Managed to shelter in the shop.

Rained all the way home, but I think the sun is now trying to make an appearance again.
So another lovely day in Cornwall.

Have been informed that today is my 8th Blip Anniversary!
Well I never!
I certainly find it hard to believe  it has been so long.
What memories, and all recorded here for me to see.
Many thanks to all of you who have followed me over the years, dropped in from time to time, and given stars and hearts and encouraged me along the way.
 I have made many friends both virtual and " in the flesh", and I am so grateful to all those at Blip Central for making it all possible.
Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.