TheHobbit

By TheHobbit

Boom! Shake-Shake-Shake the Room!

Ok, so. You're at work and your phone rings. It's your other half. You've just spoken to her an hour before about what shopping we need. Razors is all I can think I need. A voice on the end says "Is that David? I'm with Sarah, she's had a smash". Oh shit.

A fairly confused conversation later leaves me with the woman's name and she's a witness. Sarah is not able to talk right now. So, I pack up my shit and tell the bossman I'm leaving work. I know roughly where they are. I stop at the side of the road to roll a cigarette.

I get there and she's OK. A car has shunted her from behind and smashed the back windscreen.

Did I mention this is a hire car that was only dropped off an hour or so before? Sarah's car is in the garage being repaired for a small little dint caused when reversing out of a parking space.

A very kind, but stern police officer, drove the smashed up car from the scene to the Enterprise rental place, which luckily, was 200 yards down the road. "You don't hold the record Miss" they joked. So everyone is OK, even the lady who ran into the back was visibly upset and there were hugs all round.

With funeral arrangements being dealt with from the loss of her very dear grandad and father figure, this is the last thing needed. Especially with being nervous about driving the hire car in the first place.

The picture is of the remnants of the back windscreen in our shopping bag.

Of course we had to rescue the shopping first, there's £115 worth in there!

And I thought nothing remotely interesting would happen today.... After Sarah's facebook status update of "!!!!!!!!!BOOOOM!" I now have a strong urge to listen to Will Smith, loud. He's a respectable rapper, innit?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.