RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Blow Out

So yesterday I was minding my own business taking photos of the surfing competition at Playa Las Gatas. I was sitting on top of my inflatable paddle board with my point and shoot Panasonic in my hand, being very careful as it is not waterproof. I hear a pop and I'm suddenly waist deep in the ocean. I scrambled to get my camera back into its dry bag, which I had fortunately kept closed and clipped to my board, before sinking under the waves. I quickly got everything buttoned up and then faced the task of getting to shore. I decided to work my way back to the Las Gatas pier, about 500 meters away. 

About half way through my 20 minute swim, I got washed onto the rocks that protect Playa Las Gatas from the ever present waves. Trying to push off, my foot slipped into a rock crevasse and contacted a sea urchin. At least that is what I figured out when I finally reached the pier and saw the dozen or so spines sticking out of my right toe. 

I pulled spines out of my foot, rolled up my useless 15 kg board, hefted it on my shoulder, and started the half mile walk back to the apartment. The first half of the walk is along a loosely defined trail next to the water with lots of ups and downs, lots of sharp stones (of course I'm barefoot), and lots of slippery rocks. It took me more than 40 minutes to make a trek I have done before in ten.

Today I surveyed the damage and came to the conclusion it is time for a new board, to match the new paddle I bought while in the United States. Amazon here I come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.