Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Antithesis

This photo seems to me to sum up the dislocation between normal life and what has been happening today in our political life. Two hours after the fanfare on my phone announcing (via the BBC News app) the decision of the Supreme Court (the wonderful Lady Hale!) I was walking along the promenade of Dunoon's West Bay. The rain had stopped (this didn't last), there is brighter weather to the south (there frequently is), the hills are swathed in cloud and a man is walking his dog. It looks unbearably gloomy, but the air is mild and the vegetation on the shore smells strangely sweet and pleasant. And I feel energised by the news, which is the best news we've had in many, many months. God knows where it's going to end, but it would be wonderful if this was the end of the beginning.

I spent much of the afternoon watching news programmes, and went to choir and sang Tallis and heterophony in the evening. Our disgraceful PM is even now, I imagine, flying back from the USA. I do hope he wasn't booked with Cook's ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.