Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Stéphane

workshop recording
a trace of our discussions
looking at photos

This was the first official day of Frédérique's residence in the centre; a group of eight of us had decided to participate in her project, which is for each of us to take a family portrait, something that is not always easy as we are, by definition, far from our families while we are here.

There are several possibilities: going to where our families are to take the portrait there, using a photo of the members of our families we want in the portrait in any way we choose...

Here's what I'll do: as I'm going home this weekend, I'll take a portrait of Julie, we'll print it here and I'll put the portrait in a frame on my desk, where I intend to take my photo, in my room here. I'll show you the photo when it's done.

In this first session, Frédérique showed us reproductions of family portraits by various artists, to stress how different they can be. From formalists to colorists, including... Sally Mann.

We will take photos of our meetings. On this first day, I was to record our session. This is Stéphane, one of the participants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.