Do people enjoy this sort of thing?

...was what our non-walker friend Paul asked us once when our little village walking group dragged him out on a wet steep Cotswold walk.
We quoted him today. How we laughed as we battled up Lingmoor Fell in yet another downpour.
I bought new waterproof over-trousers in Keswick a couple of days ago. 
I had them all organised and ready to go in the unlikely event of heavy rain, with all the zips open , right side out and easily accessible in pole position in my rucksack. Sure enough a few hundred metres from the car in Elterwater it started to rain.  Somewhat heavily. I was all ready for the rapid whipping on of said garment.  
LooseCanon was less organised and by the time he'd sorted out his feet and his muddled zips and got the right leg in the correct orifice , well it had 'eased off to a steady downpour ' as my old Dad used to say. 
He had not taken the precaution of standing under a thick tree either so was soaked whilst I was warm and snug. And smug.
Anyway after a trudge we reached the top with stunning views which we could actually see this time as the clouds were high. 
It was immensely windy at the top, renowned for it apparently, and I with my waterproof rucksack cover acting as a spinnaker was blown completely off my feet with my dodgy right knee being bent a little more than was strictly comfortable and I landed on my walking pole with has developed a nasty  curvature and won't telescope itself back together. Ooops.

Picture is Little Langdale Tarn, seen on the way up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.