Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Not what you might think...

At first glance, you'd think that this was one of those cranky, evil-tempered Yellow Jacket Wasps that are terrorizing everything in the garden right now.  But you'd be wrong.  If, instead, you recognize this as a very well-dressed fly, you'd be right.  There is no common name to this little yellow-jacket mimic, but his latin name is Spilomyia longicornis and he is in the syrphid family (hoverfly).  I rarely see wasp-mimic flies, so it's always kind of a thrill when I realize I've spotted one.  

At the time I saw this, I was working very close to a bald-faced hornet who was being extremely cooperative and was, in fact, destined to be today's blip.  But, fancy fly trumps hornet.  And if you'd like to see the hornet, I'll put it in Extra.  

It was gloomy today with a few drizzles, but rather nice for pottering around out in the garden with snippers and a camera.  Deadheaded a few things that are still blooming and spent a ridiculous amount of time hunkered down at eye level with the goldenrod which was absolutely abuzz with bees and wasps.  Some would consider this hell on earth - but I was a happy bunny.

Skipped the gym today, figuring to give my body a rest day.  Will hit it again tomorrow and Saturday.  

And September is racing to a close.  Where has this summer gone???

xo
Debbi

On depression...I remember when I first realized that I was struggling with depression.  The first, and over-arching, feeling I had was one of embarrassment and shame.  It took me a very long time before I'd tell anyone other than my husband (and even he got a diluted version).  It still feels a little scary talking openly about it, but as I get older I am less concerned with what other people may think of me, and more concerned with living out of the shadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.