Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

Railway Ghosts

Today I decided to cycle over to Bartlow, which is only a couple of miles from Hadstock. I wanted to explore the old dismantled railway line, after investigating the mystery water tower on the farm up the hill. When I got to the spot where the road cuts between two bricked embankments (the railway viaduct is long gone), I discovered this derelict building, which may have been a signal house or something related to the railway. I loved the little graffiti character peeking out of the window frame!

I then went on down the old railway bed a way and found loads of ripe sloe (blackthorn fruit) (1st extra). Thinking I might go back and pick some, along with blackberries, which are also now ripe! I was also dismayed to see that at this point, the river (which also flows through Linton) was completely dry! (2nd extra). I have found that this is a problem with most chalk rivers in southern England. It's a real hidden crisis: https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/aug/24/river-cam-cambridge-river-punts-environment-extraction-chalk-stream

Then, this evening, we had a gorgeous rainbow over the house, so I crossed over the street and took a shot back at our house (covered in vines!) and the rainbow overhead, the sunset glowing against the dark clouds (3rd extra). 

So many things to choose from today!  I hope you like the selection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.