and through the wire...

By hesscat

I'm The Man Who...Nearly Drunk Paul's Drink @wilco

So last time Wilco (the band) played Scotland was 8 years ago... hoots mon!  Aye ok, since then we went to see Tweedy (the band) and Jeff Tweedy (the solo artist) and then we also went down to see the boys in Manchester and then jetted off to Massachusetts for Solid Sound, but apart from that, what have the romans ever... aye 8 years boys!

For the first time, the 3 of us managed to get into the front row. Oooh what a difference, being able to see everyone at the same time with no heads in the way. I reckon my favourite gig ever.... like ever ever. Eva!

Aye so Jeff referred to someone in front row centre as someone who is regularly in the front row and was in their latest music video. He invited everyone to buy this guy, Paul, a drink, because when he did the same thing in Belgium, nobody bought Paul a drink! So meanwhile skip a few songs, forgot all about that, when Ms H to my left passes me a cup of something.... since it is common place for security to hand out cups of water, I am thinking... oh, I am thirsty... but wait that's organgy yellow, hmm what's that, I sniff it, I don't want it... Mrs C and Ms H tell me to pass it on, I turn to my right and pass it to them, and they say no they don't want it, I turn back and they are both shouting at me... I can't hear them, we are mid song, it's too loud... then finally I cotton on... "pass it on to Paul in the centre" ... ok ok, I then spend 20 seconds explaining the same to the person on the right and finally it makes it way to Paul, and then the song ends and Jeff tell's Paul he's had enough.

I was so close to drinking that... I reckon the band would have stopped and I would have been marched out immediately and barred forever... oopsies.

Let's not make it so long next until time Wilco!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.