Bug's Birthday

One of the 2.5 cakes I made for the misguidedly large birthday party we had (the first organised at a venue). The 0.5 was my first attempt, which came out flat as a pancake from being brought out to early. I will never learn to just buy one. I forget that I only love baking and cooking when it is not under pressure.

The party went down well with everyone I think, but me - I was tired and tense. I couldn't help but be a bit overwhelmed by the number of presents too. It seemed a bit gratuitous, but I didn't want to break with the normal convention. 

How the Bug is five years old now, and at school, I cannot fathom. Time is a curious thing... Which reminds me of a quote I like: "Time can be added, subtracted, divided, saved, lost, filled, killed or stolen" (from Kevin Lynch's What Time is This Place?). True enough, I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.