TeeJay

By TeeJay

Happy 60th Sis

Tomorrow is my oldest sister's 60th birthday.

We celebrated the event with a 'come as you were' party. Here we have youngest sister K in the orange trouser suit - modelled on a very trendy outfit she wore as a 4 year old to a playgroup Christmas party in Haumoana. About 1971.

Birthday girl L is dressed in a replica of an outfit she wore when she was about 8. Being close in age we were often dressed 'the same but different'. Mine was the same style but in a pink and orange floral - you'll note I didn't try to replicate that!

My outfit is based (somewhat faithfully) on the bridesmaids frock I wore at my Aunty's wedding. At the time (I was 14 after all), I thought I was incredibly glamorous. Not so sure I pull it off nowadays!

There were some great outfits worn by other attendees too. My Dad went in a boys brigade uniform from the 40's, Aunty in a school uniform. A niece (in her 30s now) wore her high school ball gown - wish I could still get into something I wore in high school! Another neice was wearing her wedding gown.

Happy birthday to my very special and much loved big sister. Hugs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.