Big Hill

By bighill

A new painting...

I started the under painting for my attempt at this image! My new painting guru Richard McKinley , has become my best 'virtual' buddy/teacher! As i've mentioned before, i'm using tutorials on a great site, www.artsnetwork.com and watched and tried to emulate his idea of using simultaneous contrast for the under painting. Feels very weird and strange, but i trust him! The problem came when the water colour under painting had dried, the lovely white sanded paper i'm using was all rippled and buckled! ahhhhhh.....so i got out the iron! Worked a treat!

I'm planning to document the various stages, won't always be a blip, but i need to get a more intuitive sense of how to create this type of painting! And with a few weeks away from the clay studio, i have lots of time and space to be able to take my time....that is really important!

This painting is 15" x 22".

Another bloody cold and blustery day here.... i think it's around -14 right now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.