Not the usual view from Orrest Head

We left Hill Top at 10.00am and drove to Bowness where we parked and scampered up to Windermere and Orrest Head and back down again in the allotted 2 hours free car parking. Today’s blip is from Orrest Head but in the opposite direction to the usual spectacular views to the west.

We had a farewell coffee in Booths before Rosemary set off for Glasgow and we set off for Rochdale via Kendal for fuel and Kirkby Stephen for lunch, mouth antiseptic and a flu jab. I bit my tongue eating a ploughman’s lunch so called in at a pharmacy to buy something to sooth it and was asked if I’d had a flu jab yet. As I’m not able to make a booked date in Kent I was able to take advantage of having the jab there and then. Not quite what I expected when we arrived in Kirkby Longsdale.

It was a fairly quick drive to Rochdale where we were attending the evening session of the wedding of a colleague of mine from the prison service whom I’ve been working with for the past 5 years.

The service and reception were held in Rochdale Town Hall. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rochdale_Town_Hall What a magnificent building it is, the inside was a stunning example of Victorian architecture and affluence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.