Solar powered

I was a couple of minutes late, this morning, meeting my friend Tony for breakfast at Brew Brothers in Kendal. Funny to think that I've known him for fifteen years now, as long as I've been running my business. 

We met at a networking club that was held on Wednesday mornings at the golf club in Kendal. It was dreadful but I kept going for two reasons: firstly, the near constant state of anxiety that I was in about finding clients for my business, and, secondly, the fact that I found I really liked a few of the people who went along*.

Tony attended because he had recently moved up from near Brighton (I think) and started his own video production company. He had wanted to become a postman but apparently a lot of people move to Cumbria with that intention so there is a rule - or, at least, there was then - that you must have lived here for nine years.

It was lovely to catch up with him, as it always is, and then I walked back to the office. It was a nice sunny day, which can feel like a rarity in these parts, so the sun dial in the church yard was working and, as far as I could estimate, fairly accurate. 

Funny to think that when this was the primary method of telling the time, there would have been no concept of being a couple of minutes late; it wasn't that precise. In fact, even twenty years ago, one's watch would rarely have exactly the same time as someone else's. Nowadays we take it for granted that we're synchronised, which, on balance, I think is better, even if it can highlight our tardiness!

*including IntoTheHills of this parish.

***
-10.5 kgs
Reading: 'Second Sleep' by Robert Harris

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.