rambling images

By rml

waiting for man with a van...

ah one of those days again,

my bike broke down in Moffat, on the way to see an old mate
who is over visiting his ill father, okay phone AA, AA chap turns up
an hour and a half later, & has a valiant attempting at fixing
it, but sadly our roadside attempt fails, & he doesn't have the
vehicle to do the lift. off he goes.

Some friendly chat with some locals who very helpfully try to
think of a local garage that could help, but can't think of a
"bike" one, cheers guys I do appreciate your help & banter
it put a smile on my face.

Back on the phone to AA, and it turns out my £160
cover is only good for a recovery to a garage within 10 miles.
(which if you know Scotland is worthless unless you are in the
central belt, even then it would be touch and go)

me: okay how much for the upgrade at the roadside to take
it to new nearest BMW motorcycle garage, 40 ish miles away?
AA: after a 10 mins on hold (we are finding out sir) £80
me: okay how much if I was sitting in my living room making
this call?
AA: £22
me: ..em that strikes me as a bit of profiteering on misfortune,
AA: that is the rules. sir
me: okay, can I talk to the person who makes the rules?
AA: I don't know who that is sir..
me: okay. could you recommend a motorcycle garage within 10 miles?
AA: we don't offer that service sir, we can take you to a motorcycle
garage of your choice withing 10 miles.
me: okay I'm afraid I can't think of one could you use the computer
in front of you to search/find one?
AA: No sir we don't offer that service, we can take you to a ....
me : okay thanks
AA: Thank you for calling the AA

Time to phone a friend, 60 mins later, sterling chap a all round good
guy Mike turns up with a van, two minutes later bike in back, 60
minutes later bike now outside my local BMW dealer. Total recovery
cost some fuel & a couple of pints for Mike, cheers mate I
owe you one.

Lesson learned : check cover and upgrade from the comfort of
living room, it costs more when you actually need it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.