Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Monarch life

This morning the first of the two monarch butterfly chrysalis/pupa was dark and the wings could be seen.    I took  first photo with the phone and then went inside for less than a minute to get the camera and something to drink.  Not long as all and when I came out the butterfly had already emerged from the cocoon.    It was wiggling a little to get her wings moving so I sat there and watched for almost an hour.  At one point she fluttered and I thought she was going to fly but she drifted down to the petunias and stayed there for another thirty minutes or so.  By this time I was hot as it was 92F on the back porch where I was sitting so I went in the house to get cooled off.     I went back out twice and she was still there but the third time which was about two hours after she first emerged she was gone!   

Which was great as I wanted her to fly away.  

 
This event made me think of  the chorus of  the song, "I'll Fly Away".  


I'll fly away, oh glory
I'll fly away in the morning
When I die, Hallelujah by and by
I'll fly away


That caterpillar had to die but by and by he flew away!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.