Candida Valentino

Not a great photo although it does capture her spirit, I only had two shots and the other one was awful, all her fans were lining up so I felt I should move on but now I wish I had taken more photos!

I went to St James' Church on Piccadilly (info here), an amazingly beautiful building to see my very old and dear friend Candida Valentino performing alongside Michael Ormiston.
My lovely friend Sally came with me, it was really interesting and stirring music, Candida Valentino is the only British woman to perform Khargyraa, an undertone style of singing that has strong connections with shamanistic practices of Mongolia and Tuva, it sounds other worldly, Michael Ormiston is the UK's most experienced Mongolian Khöömii Overtone Singer, he also plays Khöömii, Tibetan Singing Bowls, Gongs and other ritual instruments as does Candida.
The concert started by being asked to turn to a stranger and share an outlook for the new year, then the music.......

The Wisdom of the Wheel of Dharma. The Triumph of the "Banner of Victory" the Protection of the "Parasol";
the Power of the "Conch Shell"; the Wealth of the "Treasure Vase" the Abundance of the "Pair of Golden Fish"
Eternal Harmony of the "Endless Knot"; And the Bright Sunshine of Enlightenment of the "Lotus Flower".

An opportunity to reflect and dream in historic surroundings.

Candida and Michael's website

Myspace

Afterwards Sally and Iwent for a mojito then went our separate ways, home by 10.30!

Gulliver went back to school today and as he now has shoes with laces had to learn to tie laces which he has!

I spent most of today shredding accounts from 2006 and reorganising the cupboard where they live and generally clearing up after the holidays and preparing to get back to work....

A very nice day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.