Lakes Ramblings

By MuddlingThrough

Post Haste

Today I went to the Post Office after receiving a depot card last week, as I suspected the items in question were unreceived Christms cards from my Mum. Sure enough, once I'd handed over my card to the man at the Customer Enquiries office three red envelopes greeted me bearing my Mum's loopy cursive script. I paid the outstanding £3.27 and walked towards my car.

Hang on a minute. I looked at the cards again. Suddenly I made a sharp turn into the Post Office itself and effortlessly fed two of the cards through the measuring slot used for standard post. The envelopes bore first class stamps and did not feel heavy. Something in me snapped and I obstinately joined the queue of pensioners and patiently waited to tell a cashier I thought I'd been 'done'. Cashier Number 4 agreed but unfortunately was unable to help - I had to go back to the Customer Enquiries office.

So, off I marched. Apparently the error was made by the city sorting office, not the local depot and I was not the first complainant. An apology was given and the nice man refunded the monies paid for all three items.

What does this experience tell me?

1.) That I guess I've decided not to settle for being ripped off anymore
2.) That good customer service makes a customer feel good
3.) But overall that due to someone in the sorting office not giving his job his full attention the cards my Mum had lovingly spent time choosing for me and my two sons never reached us in time for Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.