Awful Weather - backblip

Heavy rain all night and up to mid afternoon. Lots of local flooding resulting in the World Cycling Championship having to be re-routed round Skipton and Grassington. We ventured into Skipton late morning, had a watery walk along the canal and a bit of window shopping and when we had had enough of getting wet we had steaming hot chocolate in the Three Sheep Kitchen and one of their Famous scones each - a cheese one for me and an apricot & ginger one for Mr T.

The rain eased in the afternoon and we drove through some gorgeous but very soggy scenery round Grassington to Burnsall. The River at Burnsall was very full and running so fast. An empty canoe hurtled its way under the bridge at an alarming rate and we hoped that any occupant it might have had was safe. In a recess in the bridge I found one of those painted stones with special instructions on how to send it on it’s future travels and a lovely poem with it: ...........

The person who I’m named after has sadly passed away,
But with a little help from you we can take some of the pain away.
Take me on your travels and tell my story to those you meet.
Keep me safe, protected and oh so very neat.
Do something amazing for someone new. Random acts of kindness can feel good, it’s true. Thank you for honouring my memory and picking me up
Remember I can travel anywhere .... walking, riding, planes and trains
Leave me somewhere special with a pretty view, I’ll hope the next person who comes along can take me travelling too! .....


Aaawww! Next stop, Shropshire, probably up to the Gliding Club on the Long Mynd, where there is a very pretty view.

Blip’s just reminded me that this is my 2,500th entry - my how time flies when you’re having fun and what better way to celebrate when we’re on our TravelswithMatilda.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.