Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Four

A two-steps-forward, one-step-back kind of day. I suppose that counts as progress.

I got a few things done on the computer, a few loose ends tied up, but others looking a bit more frayed than they were when I started.

I suppose the main 'achievement' (although not one I will take much credit for) is getting the church website updated for the first time since the first week in August. (I try to update it weekly, but have been having problems since then.) Turns out that the hosting company had moved the site to a new server and had changed the logon credentials, but didn't actually publicise this fact. Today's problem report elicited a different response from their helpdesk and a solution that looks as if it might have worked. That took up a few hours of my time.

Thirty-plus years working in IT support and I am even more convinced than ever that computers are the beast that needs continual feeding, rather than the time-savers we were promised they'd be all those years ago.

In other news: went for a walk along a stretch of the Canal I rarely visit, the part near Bainsford and the Bankside Industrial Estate. Not the prettiest or most interesting of sections, and there was quite a cold and brisk wind blowing this afternoon, but I did manage a few photos, including this one taken at Lock 4. It was only when I uploaded the photo to my computer this evening that I noticed the swan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.