Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Newtown Sunrise

It really was a stunning sunrise and I only wish I had made more of an effort to capture it in all of its glory.  In the end I drove out about half a mile to the car park of a local pub that overlooks fields and cobbled together this image.

I've seen this type of sunrise on only a few occasions in the last 7 or so years on Blipfoto.  A front lies to the west, with this band lying along it, the rising sun in the east under lighting the cloud to create an intense pink shade. 

Technical: it was a really difficult scene to filter on the camera and subsequently process afterwards.  In the end I bracketed exposures as the lightest area was to the left of the band of cloud and darkest was the foreground.  The mist lying in the field proved to be a complicating factor.  I now tend to use the local adjustment tools in Lightroom to finalise the image, whereas in the past it would have been a Photoshop job, but the introduction of range masks makes it much easier to apply adjustments to the specific areas needed now days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.