Colour Blitz #1

I was silly enough to listen to the news the other day .... trade wars, presidential impeachments, Brexit and (sob) Western Sydney Giants getting thrashed in the AFL grand final. So I went back to bed and pulled the covers right up. It doesn't pay to be too aware of what is going on. It's all far too depressing.

I seem to remember some university study somewhere which suggested that bright colours can mitigate against depression. Oh heck ... even if they don't, I think I can use some extravagant colour in my life just for the sake of it. Anyway I have a strong pair of sunglasses if things get out of hand.

Hence my October Colour Blitz,  during which I am gonna seek out the brightest and most outrageous colours I can find ... ALL MONTH. You are welcome to join me when you can and together (just maybe) we can push back looming depression all over the world. The tag will be "OCB19". Spread the word.

Now let's be clear. This exercise is to have FUN!!! It ain't gonna be some forensic, purist exercise in colour management. If you want to push the colours a little to help the process along - when no-one is looking - I say go ahead.

I figure that the extent to which colours look saturated is heavily dependent on things like time of day, weather conditions, shooting angle, direction of prevailing light etc. Who is to say how saturated a given set of colours really are? Therefore, if colour is a subject's primary asset, why not use the tools at hand to show that subject at its best?

Having said all that, my own personal rule will be to use the post processing saturation slider sparingly because nothing looks worse than blown RGB channels - but that's just me.  On the other hand there is an "art filter" built into my Lumix Leica called "Toypop" which may ... er ... accidentally get  left on .. from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.